Review
Tweet about this on Twitter0Share on TumblrPin on Pinterest0Email this to someoneShare on Google+0Share on Facebook0

Pax by Ploom Portable Vaporizer Review

Details
 
Editor Rating
 
Ease of Use
8.5

 
Time to Heat Up
9.0

 
Efficiency
8.0

 
Vaporizer Quality
7.5

Editor Score
8.3

Hover To Rate
User Rating
 
Ease of Use
7.6

 
Time to Heat Up
7.5

 
Efficiency
6.8

 
Vaporizer Quality
7.4

User Score
7.3

You have rated this

 

Buy the Pax by Ploom vaporizer for $249.99

The Pax vaporizer is manufactured by San Francisco tobacco renegades Ploom, founded in 2004, whose mission it is to re-invent smoking within the context of modern materials and technology.

Ploom plan to release the Pax in the US and Canada in August 2012 and it is available to pre-order now. It is a fully functional, discreet hand held vaporizer that uses the latest gadgetry to make it intuitive and easy to use. The Pax has been billed as the i-pod of vaporizers, and it is easy to see why.

Many new vaporizer units claim to be the latest and greatest, but this unit from Ploom really does change the game. The Pax offers silent operation and compact stature for the utmost in discretion, but the functionality and user based technology here is awesome. By incorporating movement sensors Ploom have brought the vaporizer up to date and this unit will be seen as a must have amongst technology lovers as well as those who like their vapes sleek, pretty, and above all, smart.

Key features:

  • Inhalation method: Direct inhalation via the retractable mouthpiece.
  • Portability: Fully portable. This unit fits snugly into the palm of your hand.
  • Dimensions 4 1/8” X 1 2/5” X 7/8” (10.3cm X 3.5cm X 2.2cm)
  • Power: Powered by internal Lithium-ion battery that charges in one hour to give two hours continual use (around a week under average conditions). Information on how much remaining battery life you have left is quickly accessible through a ‘shake’ function. This really is the i-pod of vapes.
  • Heat source: The heater chamber and the entire vapor path are made from laser welded, food grade stainless steel.
  • Temperature control: The Pax has three temperature settings. Low medium and high, covering a temperature range of 371 F (188 C) to 410 F (210 C). Desired temperature is set with the simple click of a button and the unit will warm up in around 45 seconds. The slick LED light system will let you know when your unit has achieved the desired temperature.
  • Build: Interior: Medical grade stainless steel. Exterior: Anodized aluminum.
  • Special features: The Pax is packed with features including the shake function for checking battery life and an innovative safety shut down feature which is controlled by motion detectors, shutting down the unit when you lay it down on a table or other surface.
  • Accessories: The Pax is available in three colors: Onyx, Amethyst and Cobalt. Spare charging kits, mouthpieces, lid covers and filter screens are all available from Ploom.
  • Manufacturer: Manufactured by Ploom of California.

Box includes:

  • 1 pc. Pax Unit
  • 1 pc. Charger Dock Station
  • 1 pc. Pax Screen
  • 1 pc. Mouthpiece
  • 1 pc. Pax Lid
  • 1 pc. Pax Instruction Manual

Warranty:

  • The Pax vaporizer comes with a 10 year manufacturer’s warranty that covers defects in materials and workmanship.
  • The warranty is valid only for normal use.
  • The warranty is valid only when the vaporizer has been purchased from an authorized reseller.
  • The Pax vaporizer is guaranteed to be free of manufacturing defects and in proper working order when you receive it.

Instructions:

  • Remove the cover and pack your finely ground mix tightly into the heating chamber.
  • Close the lid.
  • Turn the unit on by pressing on and retracting the mouthpiece.
  • To set the temperature, remove the mouthpiece completely.
  • Set the desired temperature by pressing the LED button inside the unit behind the mouthpiece. Use the LED lights to guide you (yellow = low, orange = medium, red = hot).
  • When the unit is ready to use, inhale via the retractable mouthpiece with deep steady breaths.
  • The unit will shut off automatically if you set it down on a table or other surface.

 

If you would like to find out more about the Pax by Ploom vaporizer or purchase it at the lowest price, please click here.

 

comments
 
Leave a reply »

 

    Comments

  • zazazo
    September 27, 2014 at 11:26 am
    Rating
    Ease of Use 8
    Time to Heat Up 8
    Efficiency8
    Vaporizer Quality8

    Pax vaporizer rocks!!
    Real smart vaporizer looks good. Action is sooo cool as is vapor wich is thick and smooth. Easy to use and very good action. I just use my freinds but will get me one this summer. Love this.

    Reply

  • Tj
    September 27, 2014 at 11:27 am
    Rating
    Ease of Use 10
    Time to Heat Up 8
    Efficiency10
    Vaporizer Quality10

    Great Vape'
    First thing you must know is the portable vaporizer experience is NOT like other direct use products. Generally, a full reservoir can take 15 – 20 min to complete. Which I think is awesome. Very relaxing. If you are looking for “fast” this is not it.

    That said. This product has fast become my ‘go to’ choice. I enjoy a 15 min break and the Pax is with me the whole time. Awesome!

    It vaporizes; eliminating butane and hard particles from burning tobacco from being inhaled into your lungs.

    Smooth. High tech. Clean. Effective.

    Yeah. This is it.

    Enjoy.

    Reply

  • kris horn
    September 27, 2014 at 11:28 am
    Rating
    Ease of Use 10
    Time to Heat Up 10
    Efficiency10
    Vaporizer Quality10

    awesome smoke session
    Was amazed all i can say amazed

    Reply

  • CharlesMessier
    September 27, 2014 at 11:29 am
    Rating
    Ease of Use 8
    Time to Heat Up 10
    Efficiency10
    Vaporizer Quality8

    Very Good
    This is a real good vaporizer. Very modern and hi tech. The looks are fabulous – Nice clean lines and cool, hip colors. The size is fantastic if, like me, you like to vape when your out and about. The Pax Ploom fits easily in my pocket and even if other people or work coleagues catch a glimpse of it, it doesn’t look like smoking paraphenalia.

    When I use it it is real easy to operate. It heats up my herbal mixes real quick and the vapor that it delivers is cool and tasty. This is a real good vaporizer and I would recommend it to anybody.

    Reply

  • ShannonC
    September 27, 2014 at 11:31 am
    Rating
    Ease of Use 8
    Time to Heat Up 10
    Efficiency8
    Vaporizer Quality8

    Excellent vaporizer
    The first thing of note about the Pax is the looks and feel of it. This is a nice bit of kit. It has that modern gadget feel about it that I love. There was a nice color choice available to me and I went for the cobalt blue.

    So it looks and feels the part, but is it any good?

    Well, yes. I left mine to charge while I read the manual, it all seemed quite simple so as soon as it was charged I tried it out. Works great! Simple to load and operate, great ‘plooms’ of thick vapor.
    The worst thing about it: There are only three temp. settings, I think it would have been better with more, or even a digital input where you can select the exact temp.
    The best thing about it:

    Ploom give a ten year gurantee. For me this means that they have faith in their product and because of that, so do I.
    Altogether a great vaporizer.

    Reply

  • SoCalShore
    September 27, 2014 at 11:32 am
    Rating
    Ease of Use 10
    Time to Heat Up 10
    Efficiency10
    Vaporizer Quality8

    As soon as I saw it I knew I must have it!
    The Pax appealed to me aesthetically as well as functionally and I really liked all three color choices. I ordered directly from Ploom, chose the amethyst (purple) and patiently waited for it’s arrival.

    My first impression upon un-packing the Pax was love at first sight with the packaging very similar to a favorite electronic toy of mine. While reading the instruction booklet I began charging my Pax. Unfortunately my Pax wasn’t charging correctly. I contacted Ploom customer service through their web site via Chat and they insisted I send the whole unit with charger back to Ploom pre-paid shipping. They gave me no hassles, what so ever, and they were very apologetic that my Pax wasn’t working correctly, they just wanted to make it right. Ploom customer service really wants to please their customers and will go the extra mile to make us happy with our purchase. The problem was diagnosed the same day that my Pax arrived back to Ploom and my same unit with a new charger was shipped out to me the following day.

    There is a learning curve when experimenting with the Pax. But really, isnt that some of the fun? It first feels awesome in the hands and you find that you just want to hold it all the time It is very versatile when packing the oven. I have found that it is more efficient to pack at least 1/2 the oven and press it down with some type of tool or the side of the oven door. I have tried it loose and full, about the same amount of material, and it works “ok”. For the draw, I take it slow and enjoy my medicine. It takes about 30 seconds to heat up to one of the pre determined heat settings and if you happen to set it down for a while it has a stand-by mode that it switches to but one you pick it up again it returns back to your heat setting of choice.

    If you troll in some of the forums, you will most likely read that “a clean Pax is a happy Pax” (not my personal quote but it is very true). I find that I thoroughly clean my Pax every other day and so far I have had no operating complaints. Not all Vaporizers are going to be 100% problem or maintenance free and usually the problems that might arise with the Pax will be maintenance (cleaning) related. It’s good to know that Ploom really stands behind their product.

    Reply

  • W
    January 31, 2015 at 11:20 pm

    I do not know how pax is still selling this piece of junk but they are. Anyway whatever anyone said about the pax is false. They are horrible, hot, smelly and they break and foul up so easy it’s stupid. DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!!!! Get a arizer solo like a big boy. The pax is for the beginners !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply